John MacKenna

Dead Fox

Magpied innards
on a summer road,
a brighter red
than this lifeless coat.
Spilled sentences that speak
of a wild
the music left
in an old concertina.






John MacKenna was born in 1952 in Castledermot in Co Kildare. His short story collections include The Fallen and Other Stories (Belfast, The Blackstaff Press, 1992) which won The Irish Times First Fiction Award; A Year of Our Lives (London, Picador, 1995); and The River Field (Dublin, New Island Books, 2007). His novels are Clare (The Blackstaff Press, 1993); The Last Fine Summer (London, Picador, 1998); A Haunted Heart (London, Picador, 1999) and The Space Between Us (New Island Books, 2009). He is also a well-known documentary maker and won a Jacob’s Radio Award for his documentary series on Leonard Cohen, How The Heart Approaches What It Yearns.